The Pakistan Football Federation was created on 5 December 1947, after the independence from Great Britain. Quaid-e-Azam Mohammad Ali Jinnah, Pakistan’s first leader, became PFF’s Patron-in-Chief, and in 1948, PFF became affiliated with FIFA. It is also one of the founding members of the Asian Football Confederation when it was established in 1954 and became a SAFF affiliate in 1997.

The Footballing Journey

October 2020

The Early Years

The first national championship in Pakistan was organized in 1948 at Karachi. Whereas, Pakistan Football Team made its international debut on a tour to Iran and Iraq in October 1950. Pakistan Football Team’s next international outing came in the Colombo Cup where the team played its first match against India which ended in a goalless draw. During the 50s, Pakistan played internationally in the following Colombo Cup editions which were played in India in 1954, then East Pakistan in 1955, and the Asian Games in Philippines in 1954 and in Japan in 1958.


In the early 1960s Pakistan Football Team played and won against teams such as Thailand, Japan and Burma. In 1965 Pakistan played in the first RDC Cup and finished third. In 1967, Pakistan played a series of friendlies against Saudi Arabia, all ending in draws. Later in the year Pakistan lost their Asian Cup qualifiers against Burma and Khmer and drew their final match against India. Pakistan then hosted the second RDC Cup and finished third....In the early 1970s the national side's participation was restricted to the RDC Cup and the 1974 Asian Games, and a single friendly against South Korea in 1978. The most notable result in this period was a 2–2 draw against Turkey.


In the King's Cup in 1982, Pakistan secured a goalless draw against Indonesia, the team's first clean sheet since 1962. After a loss to Thailand, they gained a 3–2 victory versus Malaysia and although they lost a close game against China, they were able to win 1–0 in their final game against Singapore.Pakistan hosted a friendly tournament involving Iran, Bangladesh, Oman and Nepal in 1982. The Green Shirts started off with a 2–1 over Bangladesh. They lost to Iran, but came back and beat Nepal 2–0. The last game against Oman ended nil-nil and Pakistan ended the tournament as runners-up....The national team hosted another tournament in 1985, this time inviting North Korea, Indonesia, Bangladesh and Nepal. A goalless draw against the North Koreans boosted the side, and they beat Nepal 1–0. However, losses in the final two games against Bangladesh and Indonesia meant they were again runners up. In the South Asian Games, Pakistan ended fourth after losing a penalty shoot out to Nepal.In the 1986 Asian Games, Pakistan lost all their games. However, a year later the side was more successful at the South Asian Games, winning the bronze medal match against Bangladesh 1–0. In 1988, they lost all their Asian Cup qualifiers. Pakistan made their first attempt to qualify for the World Cup in 1989. However, they were unable to win any of their matches. The national team bounced back, when several months later they took Gold at the South Asian Games, beating Bangladesh 1–0 in the final.


Pakistan had another early exit in the Asian Games, losing all three games in 1990. In the 1991 South Asian Games, Pakistan beat the Maldives in the final 2–0 to win their second Gold. Later in the year the first SAFF Cup took place, and the national team finished fourth. Having not enjoyed much success in the following years, Pakistan came third in the 1997 SAFF Cup, thanks to a 1–0 victory over Sri Lanka in the third-place playoff.


2004 saw changes in Pakistan football, with a new administration in place by this time and a new national league up and running. A victory against India in a three-match series, the final match ending 3–0 to the Green shirts, followed, and they went on the reach the semi-finals of the 2005 SAFF Cup. They lost the semifinal against defending champion Bangladesh by 0–1 margin. Whereas, in SAF Games Pakistan team won 2 Gold Medals in 2004 and 2006 held in Pakistan and Sri Lanka respectively....The Pakistan team played in several tournaments and qualifiers in the 2000s, but was unable to make a mark with the most notable win coming against India in 2014 in a friendly series that Pakistan Football Team won 2-1 on aggregate.


Pakistan Football Federation faced a suspension from FIFA after a controversial election and regime change. The suspension was lifted by FIFA in 2018. FIFA also put in place a Normalization Committee with the task to hold elections and help bring Pakistani Football back on track.


Champions 1989199120042006

Runners-Up 1987


Champions 1997

Runners-Up 1993200320052018


Champions 19651967196919701974


Champions 1952

Runners-Up 195319541955


Muhammad Naveed Akram

General Secretary

Executive Committee

Engr.Syed Ashfaq Hussain


Malik Muhammad Amir Dogar

Senior Vice President

Syed Zahir Ali Shah
Syed Zahir Ali ShahVice President
Maj. Syed Ghayoor Ali Hamdani
Maj. Syed Ghayoor Ali HamdaniArmy
Group Captain. Nasusher Khan
Group Captain. Nasusher KhanPAF
Capt. Nasir Mehmood
Capt. Nasir MehmoodNavy
Rana M. Ashraf Khan
Rana M. Ashraf KhanPunjab
Mian Rizwan Ali
Mian Rizwan AliPunjab
Mr. Abdul Nasir Karim Baloch
Mr. Abdul Nasir Karim BalochSindh
Mr. Jamil Ahmed Hoath
Mr. Jamil Ahmed HoathSindh
Mr. Said Rasool
Mr. Said RasoolKPK
Mr. Zulfiqar Ahmed
Mr. Zulfiqar AhmedKPK
Mr. Aziz Ullah
Mr. Aziz UllahBalochistan
Dost M. Khan
Dost M. KhanBalochistan

PFF Congress

Malik Muhammad Aamir Dogar
Malik Muhammad Aamir DogarPunjab
Ch. Faqir Muhammad
Ch. Faqir MuhammadPunjab
Syed Khadim Ali Shah
Syed Khadim Ali ShahSindh
Mr. Saleem Sheikh
Mr. Saleem SheikhSindh
Mr. Anwar Qureshi
Mr. Anwar QureshiSindh
Syed Zahir Ali Shah
Syed Zahir Ali ShahKPK
Mr. Muhammad Nauman
Mr. Muhammad NaumanKPK
Muhamamd Saleem
Muhamamd SaleemKPK
Haji Saeed Ahmad
Haji Saeed AhmadBalochistan
Mr. Ayyaz Zahoor
Mr. Ayyaz ZahoorBalochistan
Muhammad Shafiq
Muhammad ShafiqBalochistan
Ch. Muhammad Saleem
Ch. Muhammad SaleemIslamabad
Capt. Nasir Mehmood
Capt. Nasir MehmoodPakistan Navy
Lt. Col (R) Raja Asif Mehdi
Lt. Col (R) Raja Asif MehdiWAPDA
Mr. Noor Ud Din Dawar
Mr. Noor Ud Din DawarPakistan Railway
Syed Basharat Ali
Syed Basharat AliPIA
Mr. Waseem Ahmed Khan
Mr. Waseem Ahmed KhanPakistan Police
Mr. Muhammad Faisal Butt
Mr. Muhammad Faisal Butt HEC
Major. Syed Ghayoor Ali Hamidi
Major. Syed Ghayoor Ali HamidiPak Army
Group Captain Nausher Khan
Group Captain Nausher KhanPAF
Qazi Asif
Qazi Asif Pakistan Football Referees Association

Women Members

Miss. Nisha Ashraf
Miss. Nisha AshrafNational Women Champion Team
Mrs. Farzana Rauf
Mrs. Farzana Rauf
Mrs. Tasawar Aziz
Mrs. Tasawar Aziz
Mrs. Javairia Zafar
Mrs. Javairia Zafar